FFA forestry winners named

Twenty High School FFA teams from across the state of Louisiana competed in a career development event at Stuart Lake Recreation Area in Grant Parish on October 13. To qualify for the competition, each team had to place in the top five in contests in each of the four regions. State Representative Terry Brown welcomed the contestants, and reviewed a brief histiory of the Stuart Lake facility, Southland Timber owner Kenny Goins and JKM Logging Company owner Kelley Martin sponsored the event, contributing $1,500 to pay for awareds and a catered lunch. Ten employees of the U.S. Forest Service supervised the contests.

Opening ceremonies were performed by state and area officers from the Louisiana Association of FFA. (See photograph, below.) The “practicum” events included tree identification, compass reading, map reading, timber cruising, timber stand improvement, and machinery identification. Over 100 students participated. State championship team is from Calvin, in Winn Parish, tught by Chad Camp. The team will represent Louisiana in the National FFA Forestry contest next year in Indianapolis, IN. Members are Bryce Franklin, Josie Camp, Treyton Trawick, Sean Ables, Anthony Adams, and Justin Reed. Runner up team is from Lakeview High School in Campti, taught by Ryan Rilet and Adam Thibodeauc. Members are Bryce Franklin, Tyler Sullivan, Cadie Coleman, James Drummer, Bayli Quick, and Justin Reed. Third place team is from Natchitoches Central High School, taught by Vincent Bahm. Members are Aaron Beaubouef, Sarah Kyson, Bryce Franklin, Bradley Scott, Dylan Daniels, Kirhawnte Dudley, Preston Tibbett, and Justin Reed. Fourth place team is from Kinder High School.FFA Advisor is Sullivan Fontenot. Members are Sullivan Fontenot, John Wetherford, Kyle Knighton, Koby Fusilier, and Justin Reed. Louisiana Tech awarded a $1,000 scholarship to the School of Forestry to thenhighest overall scforing individual, Anthony Adams, of Calvin High School.

State and area officers from Louisiana Association of FFA performed opening ceremonies at recent meeting.
Left to right, State VP, Area 1 Bryce Franklin; State VP, area 2, Bayli Quick; Area 2 President Sam Tarpley;
State Treasurer Ashlee Sebren; Area 1 Treasurer Isabel Oakley; State Sentinel Zac Little;
Area 1 Parliamentarian Emma White; State FFA Executive Secretary Kathy Conerly;
and State Representative Terry Brown.